Monday, October 18, 2010

Review of City On Our Knees






















      
City on Our Knees by TobyMac with Todd Hafer and Rick Killian is an awesome compilation of inspirational true stories all with themes similar to TobyMac’s hit “City On Our Knees”. Some stories are about George Muller, Michael Oher (who The Blind Side is based on), William Wilberforce, and many others. In each section of the book, there is a two-page “blog” by TobyMac. 

I really enjoyed this book. It’s filled with awesome stories of people doing awesome things. From children with diseases raising an enormous amount of money to an athlete committing to keep herself drug-free, I absolutely loved every page of this book. It teaches lessons about unity, faith, and prayer. Fans of TobyMac, I believe, will really enjoy this book, but people who may not necessarily be big fans of tobymac will enjoy the real, amazing stories of the people of God in this book. I recommend it to families with teens. The writing style is easy to understand, and those who may not enjoy reading will enjoy these short (about four pages) true stories. 

One thing to be aware about is that there are two stories about ministries that help people trapped in the awful act of slave trafficking. The situation for many people in “the red light district” is briefly described. May not be suitable for younger children.

I recommend this book to adults and older teens. 

Specifics (from amazon.com):
~ Hardcover: 223 pages
~ Publisher: Bethany House (September 1, 2010)
~ Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.1 x 1 inches

Note: I received this book freely from Bethany House Publishers. I am not obligated to write a positive review- only a honest one.

Blessings,

2 comments:

Sananora said...

Cool...I haven't ever heard of it.

Sierra said...

I love Toby Mac!Sierra

Blog Widget by LinkWithin